AI Dictation App Pricing 2026: What Each One Costs per Year

Three abstract price tags of very different heights standing side by side, the smallest one highlighted in mint green with a phone next to it

As of October 2026, the main AI dictation apps cost US$8.49–30 a month billed monthly, and US$96–144 a year on the yearly plans that list a price: Typeless Pro, Wispr Flow Pro and Willow Pro come to US$144 a year, Aqua Voice Pro to US$96. YOURIO Pro is US$2.99 a month (about US$36 for twelve months), and its on-device voice typing and Magic · Standard are free with no word limit. The paid plans of the others include things YOURIO doesn't, such as unlimited words and native desktop microphone apps, so the cheapest choice depends on how you dictate.

Why the yearly number matters

Most AI dictation apps show their price as a monthly figure billed yearly. That's the number on the pricing card, and it's usually the lower one. If you'd rather not commit for a year, the real monthly price can be 25–150% higher. And since September 2026, when Typeless cut its free plan from 8,000 to 2,000 words a week, more people are hitting free limits and having to choose.

So the useful question isn't "what does it cost a month" but "what will I pay over the next twelve months, the way I actually want to pay".

Price comparison table

App (plan)Billed monthlyBilled yearlyFree tierWhere speech is processed (per the official site)
Typeless (Pro)US$30 a monthUS$12 a month (US$144 a year)2,000 words a weekCloud servers, discarded after the result is returned
Wispr Flow (Pro)US$15 a monthUS$12 a month (US$144 a year)2,000 words a week on desktop, 1,000 on mobileNot stated on the pricing page
Willow (Pro)US$15 a monthUS$12 a month (US$144 a year)Unlimited dictation with its basic speech model (Frontier Mini); 20 Scribe uses a weekNot stated on the pricing page
Aqua Voice (Pro)US$10 a monthUS$8 a month (US$96 a year)1,000 free wordsNot stated on the pricing page
Superwhisper (Pro)US$8.49 a monthOffered ("2 months free"); a lifetime license is also offeredUnlimited use of local Whisper modelsWorks offline with local models; Pro adds cloud models
YOURIO (Pro)US$2.99 a monthNo yearly planVoice typing, translation and Magic · Standard with no word limit; 2,000 words a week of cloud AISpeech on your phone; only text goes to cloud AI

Prices in US dollars as listed on each company's official pricing page, as of October 2026, for one person on the plan most individuals choose. Taxes and local prices may differ, and companies change prices; check the page before you buy. YOURIO's price in your country is the one the App Store or Google Play shows.

What twelve months actually cost

  • Typeless Pro: US$144 paid yearly, or US$360 if you pay month by month.
  • Wispr Flow Pro: US$144 yearly, or US$180 month by month.
  • Willow Pro: US$144 yearly, or US$180 month by month.
  • Aqua Voice Pro: US$96 yearly, or US$120 month by month.
  • Superwhisper Pro: about US$102 month by month; its yearly and lifetime options are cheaper per month.
  • YOURIO Pro: about US$36 for twelve months, monthly only, cancel any month. If you only use the free on-device features, US$0.

Two of these also have student discounts on their pages (Aqua Voice 70% off, Superwhisper 40% off), which change the math if you qualify.

What the paid plans include that YOURIO doesn't

A fair comparison isn't only price. Here is what you get from the others that YOURIO Pro doesn't offer:

  • Unlimited words. Typeless Pro, Wispr Flow Pro and Aqua Voice Pro list unlimited words or dictation. YOURIO Pro has a large but real cap: 1,000,000 words of YOURIO AI a month. (With your own API key, there's no limit from us.)
  • Native desktop apps that use your computer's microphone. All five have desktop apps. YOURIO on Mac and Windows uses your phone as the microphone, so the phone has to be nearby.
  • Cloud recognition in many languages. Typeless, Wispr Flow and Superwhisper list support for 100+ languages. What YOURIO can recognize depends on your phone's on-device recognizer.
  • Extras. Wispr Flow includes a meeting Notetaker, Superwhisper Pro transcribes audio and video files, and several offer team billing and admin tools.

Why YOURIO can charge less

Recognizing speech in the cloud costs money for every minute you talk. YOURIO doesn't do that: your phone's own on-device recognizer turns speech into text, and the audio never leaves the phone. That's why voice typing, real-time translation and Magic · Standard (removes filler words, keeps your final correction, adds punctuation) are free with no word limit and no account.

You only pay for cloud AI cleanup, and only if you want it: Magic · Enhanced reorders scattered thoughts and turns spoken lists into bullet points, Edit rewrites selected text in place, and Ask Memory answers from records you approve. Those send text, never audio. You get 2,000 words a week free after signing in, 1,000,000 a month with Pro, or no limit from us when you use your own API key and pay your provider directly. More on what stays on the phone in Does voice typing upload your voice?

Which one fits how you dictate

  • Mostly at a desk, all day, on the computer's mic: a desktop-first app's yearly plan is probably worth it. YOURIO can do it with your phone as the microphone (how that works), but if you don't want the phone involved, pay for a desktop app.
  • Mostly on your phone, replying to messages: YOURIO's free plan may be all you need.
  • You want AI cleanup but not another subscription: YOURIO with your own API key, or the free 2,000 words a week.
  • You keep running out of free words mid-week: see three ways to keep going without waiting for next week.

For a closer look at Typeless and YOURIO side by side, see the Typeless alternative overview; if you decide to move, this guide covers your dictionary and writing style.

Honest limits of this comparison

This is a price comparison, not an accuracy test. We haven't measured whether YOURIO recognizes speech better or worse than any of these apps, and we won't claim it does. Free tiers are counted differently (words, uses, a one-time allowance), so they aren't perfectly comparable. And all of these prices can change; the date on this page matters.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Typeless cost per year?

As of October 2026, Typeless Pro costs US$144 a year on the yearly plan (US$12 a month) or US$360 a year if you pay US$30 month by month, according to its pricing page. The free plan is limited to 2,000 words a week.

What is the cheapest AI dictation app in 2026?

Among the apps compared here, YOURIO Pro is the lowest paid plan at US$2.99 a month (about US$36 for twelve months), and its on-device voice typing and Magic · Standard are free with no word limit. Superwhisper's free tier also offers unlimited local models. Other paid plans range from US$8.49 to US$30 a month billed monthly, as of October 2026.

Is Wispr Flow cheaper than Typeless?

Billed yearly, both Pro plans are US$12 a month (US$144 a year). Billed monthly, Wispr Flow Pro is US$15 and Typeless Pro is US$30, as of October 2026. Wispr Flow's free plan gives 2,000 words a week on desktop and 1,000 on mobile.

Does YOURIO have unlimited words?

Voice typing, real-time translation and Magic · Standard have no word limit and are free. Cloud AI cleanup through YOURIO AI is 2,000 words a week free or 1,000,000 a month with YOURIO Pro, so not unlimited. With your own API key, YOURIO sets no limit and your provider bills you.

Sources (all checked October 2026): Typeless pricing, Typeless privacy policy, Wispr Flow pricing, Willow pricing, Aqua Voice pricing, Superwhisper.